Brexit: The EU institutions mark the UK’s withdrawal from the EU

The United Kingdom will leave the European Union at midnight tonight (00:00 CET). This follows the ratification of the Withdrawal Agreement this week by both the European Parliament and Council. Earlier this morning, Presidents von der Leyen, Sassoli and Michel gave a joint press statement at the European Parliament’s Parliamentarium. The President’s remarks have been published here. As President von der Leyen said: “We want to have the best possible partnership with the United Kingdom. But it is clear that there will always be a difference. Belonging to the European Union matters.” The Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period until at least 31 December 2020, during which the UK remains a member of the Single Market and Customs Union. For more information on the Withdrawal Agreement, see here. On Monday, 3 February, the Commission will adopt and present draft negotiating directives for the future relationship negotiations with the United Kingdom to the Council. Michel Barnier, the European Commission’s Chief Negotiator, will also hold a press conference on Monday, which you can watch live on EbS, followed by a technical briefing.