Commission appoints top scientists to the European Research Council’s governing body and opens public consultation on next EU research and innovation programme


The European Commission has today appointed six eminent scholars to the governing body of the European Research Council (ERC), the Scientific Council. The European Research Council funded by the EU research and innovation programme Horizon 2020 is responsible for financing investigator-driven frontier scientific research in Europe. The ERC has already enabled scientific breakthroughs such as the first image of a black holeimportant advances in cancer research or the early detection of security flaws in computer processors. Four new members of the Scientific Council will take office on 1 July 2019: Professors Geneviève Almouzni (Institut Curie in Paris), Eystein Jansen (University of Bergen), Mercedes García-Arenal (Institute of Languages and Cultures of the Mediterranean and the Near East in Madrid) and Jesper Qualmann Svejstrup (Copenhagen University). Two new members will take office on 1 January 2020: Professors Milena Žic Fuchs (University of Zagreb) and Gerd Gigerenzer (Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin). The Commission has also renewed the mandate of the following members: Professors Margaret Buckingham and Michael Kramer as of 1 July 2019 and Barbara Romanowicz as of 1 January 2020. All members of the ERC scientific council are appointed following recommendations of an independent identification committee. An ERC news itemis available online. Also today, the Commission has opened a survey on the next EU research and innovation programme Horizon Europe (2021-2027). The consultation will gather feedback by citizens and stakeholders on how Horizon Europe should be shaped in detail and implemented in practice.