Commission appoints top scientists to the European Research Council’s governing body

The Commission has today appointed two accomplished scientists from Germany and Greece to the governing body of the European Research Council (ERC), the Scientific Council, for a four-year term of office. The two new members are Kurt Mehlhorn, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Informatics and Professor of Computer Science at Saarland University, and Nektarios Tavernarkis, Professor of Molecular Systems Biology at the Medical School of the University of Crete and Director of the Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, at the Foundation for Research and Technology in Heraklion, Greece. The ERC Scientific Council is an independent body that decides the strategy and distribution of ERC funding. All of its members are selected by an independent Identification Committee. An ERC press release is available online.