Commission welcomes new members of the EIT Governing Board

Today, the European Commission appointed four new members to the Governing Board of the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT). They are Péter Lakatos, Rolf P. Nagel, Björn O. Nilsson and Dirk Jan van den Berg. Their biographies are available here. Tibor Navracsics, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, said: “The new Board members will help guide the EIT and the Knowledge and Innovation Communities in contributing to Europe’s innovation capacity by delivering new and cutting-edge education activities, developing solutions to significant societal challenges and by extending their activities further across Europe’s regions.” The EIT Governing Board is composed of professionals chosen for their expertise and experience in education, research and business. It oversees the strategic direction of the EIT and the selection of its operating partners, the Knowledge and Innovation Communities. The four new members are highly respected for their work in fields connected to business and innovation. They have been appointed for four years and will join the other members of the Board at the next meeting of the EIT Governing Board in September.