Commissioners Vălean and Várhelyi participate at Transport Community Ministerial Council

©European Union, 2020, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service©European Union, 2020, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service

Today, Commissioners for Transport, Adina Vălean, and Neighbourhood and Enlargement, Olivér Várhelyi, are participating in the third Transport Community Treaty Ministerial Council, together with Transport Ministers from the six Western Balkan partners, by videoconference. The Ministerial Council is an opportunity to discuss the recently adopted Economic and Investment Plan for the Western Balkans, which aims at supporting the longer-term socioeconomic recovery of the region and its economic convergence with the EU. The Plan puts a strong focus on Trans-European transport links and upgrading infrastructure crucial for economic development, including energy interconnectors, a Green Agenda for the region and the digital transformation. In the meeting, partners are expected to endorse action plans for rail, road, transport facilitation and road safety to take forward cooperation and integration in these areas. Their implementation will be key to underpin the EU’s Economic and Investment Plan. The Transport Community, an international organisation composed of the EU and its six Western Balkan partners, aims at accelerating the integration of the Western Balkans’ transport markets into the EU by assisting partners to adopt and implement the EU legislation and by supporting projects that are connecting Western Balkans regional partners among themselves and with the EU. More info on the Transport Community can be found here.