Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures against Myanmar/Burma

On 23 April 2020 the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/563[1] concerning restrictive measures against Myanmar/Burma.

The Council renewed the existing restrictive measures for a further twelve months, until 30 April 2021, and amends the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to Decision 2013/184/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania[2], the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 24.04.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 130, p.25.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.