Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies in view of the situation in Ukraine

On 5 March 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/373[1] amending Decision 2014/119/CFSP.

The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 6 March 2021, and amends the list of persons, entities and bodies subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to Decision 2014/119/CFSP by removing two persons.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania[2], and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and the Republic of Moldova align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 06.03.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 71, p.10.

[2] Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.