Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina

On 23 March 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/435[1].

The Council Decision extends the existing restrictive measures until 31 March 2021.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania[2], and the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 24.03.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 89, p. 4.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.