Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of the situation in Libya

On 21 September 2020, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1310[1].

The Council decided that two persons responsible for human rights abuses and three entities involved in violating the UN arms embargo should be added to the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in Annexes II and IV to Decision (CFSP) 2015/1333.

The Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania[2], and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Armenia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to the Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 21.09.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 305 I, p. 5.
[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.