Energy Union: North Seas countries agree on closer energy cooperation

North Seas region countries Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway and Sweden have today agreed to further strengthen their energy cooperation. The aim is to create good conditions for the development of offshore wind energy in order to ensure a sustainable, secure and affordable energy supply in the North Seas countries. A political declaration and action plan signed today by nine Ministers, the Vice-President for Energy Union Maroš Šefčovič and Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy Miguel Arias Cañete, will also facilitate the building of missing electricity links, allow more trading of energy and further integration of energy markets. Reinforcing regional cooperation will help reduce greenhouse gas emissions and enhance security of supply in the region. These are key objectives of the Energy Union. Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič said: “Today’s declaration is an important step towards an Energy Union that will deliver the climate commitments we made in Paris last year. Close regional cooperation and pooling together of energy sources will be essential to unlock the full potential of the North Sea resources at the lowest cost.” Commissioner Arias Cañete said: “Today marks a turning point in cooperation in the North Seas region. We now have a concrete action plan that will deliver results. This strategy will boost interconnection and renewables capacity, help fight climate change and bolster energy security, which are the central goals of the Energy Union.” For more information read the full press release in EN, FR and DE.