EU Digital COVID Certificate: Commission adopts equivalence decisions for Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand and Serbia

Today, the Commission adopted four decisions certifying that COVID-19 certificates issued by Georgia, Moldova, New Zealand and Serbia are equivalent to the EU Digital COVID Certificate. As a result, the four countries will be connected to the EU’s system and their COVID certificates will be accepted under the same conditions as the EU Digital COVID Certificate.  At the same time, the four countries agreed to accept the EU Digital COVID Certificate for travel from the EU to their countries. Commissioner for Justice, Didier Reynders said: “I am pleased to see that the number of countries wanting to join the EU system keeps on growing. With today‘s decisions, 49 countries and territories in five continents are connected to the EU Digital COVID Certificate system. We continue our efforts to strengthen travellers’ confidence in safe travel inside and outside the EU”. Commissioner for Neighbourhood and Enlargement, Olivér Várhelyi said: “Just as we have stood by our partners in the fight against the pandemic, we continue to work together to open up safely. We bring good news ahead of the Eastern Partnership Ministerial meeting. Today, I welcome that Georgia, Moldova as well as Serbia have joined our Digital COVID Certificate system and I look forward to more of our neighbours connecting as soon as possible.” The four Commission decisions adopted today (available online) will enter into force as of 16 November 2021. More information on the EU Digital COVID Certificate can be found on the dedicated website.