EU-India Trade and Technology Council: first ministerial meeting to be held in Brussels

The first ministerial meeting of the EU-India Trade and Technology Council (TTC) will be held on 16 May in Brussels.

The ministerial meeting will be co-chaired on the EU side by Executive Vice-Presidents Margrethe Vestager and Valdis Dombrovskis, and on the Indian side by Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, Minister of External Affairs, Piyush Goyal, Minister of Commerce and Industry, and Ashwini Vaishnaw, Minister of Electronics and Information Technology. They will be joined by High Representative and Vice-President Josep Borrell, as well as Commissioner for Internal Market Thierry Breton.

Related stakeholder events will be held already on Monday, 15 May ahead of the TTC, with participants from business, academia and civil society.

This newly-created forum aims to deepen the strategic partnership on trade and technology between the two partners. The EU and India have a common interest in ensuring security, prosperity and sustainable development based on shared values.

Three working groups have prepared the work which will focus on strategic technologies, digital governance and digital connectivity; green and clean energy technologies; and trade, investment and resilient value chains.

This first meeting follows the launch of the EU-India TTC on 6 February 2023 and the announcement by the President of the European Commission Ursula von der Leyen and the Prime Minister of India, Narendra Modi, on 25 April 2022 in New Delhi.

(For more information: Sonya Gospodinova – Tel.: +32 2 296 69 53; Miriam García Ferrer – Tel.: +32 2 299 90 75; Thomas Regnier – Tel.: +32 2 299 10 99; Roberta Verbanac – Tel.: +32 2 298 24 98)