European Economic Area Council, 20/11/2018

Main results

European Economic Area Council

The 50th meeting of the European Economic Area (‘EEA’) Council was chaired by Ms Ine Marie Eriksen Søreide, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Norway. Ms Karin Kneissl, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Austria, co-chaired the meeting, on behalf of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union. On the EEA EFTA side, Ms Aurelia Frick, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Liechtenstein, and Mr Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Iceland were also present.

The EEA Council discussed the overall functioning of the EEA Agreement.

It held an orientation debate on the European Pillar of Social Rights in the context of the EEA Agreement.

The EEA Council also adopted conclusions on issues related to the EEA Agreement and cooperation between the EU and the EEA EFTA states.

Political dialogue

The meeting of the EEA Council was preceded by an informal political dialogue with the EEA EFTA states. Discussions focused on the implications for the EEA Agreement of the UK’s withdrawal from the EU, and on multilateralism.