Fourth package of sanctions in view of Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine: 15 additional individuals and 9 entities subject to EU restrictive measures

©European Union, 2021, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service©European Union, 2021, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service

The Council decided today to impose restrictive measures on an additional 15 individuals and 9 entities in respect of the ongoing unjustified and unprovoked Russian military aggression against Ukraine, and of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine.

We are adding to our sanctions list even more oligarchs and regime-affiliated elites, their families and prominent businesspeople, which are involved in economic sectors providing a substantial source of revenue to the regime. These sanctions also target those who have a leading role in disinformation and propaganda that accompany President Putin’s war against Ukrainian people. Our message is clear: Those who enable the invasion of Ukraine pay a price for their actions.

Josep Borrell, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

The listed individuals include key oligarchs Roman Abramovich and German Khan as well as other prominent businesspeople involved in key economic sectors, such as iron and steel, energy, banking, media, military and dual use products and services. The list also includes lobbyists and propagandists, such as Konstantin Ernst (CEO of Channel One Russia) who are pushing the Kremlin’s narrative on the situation in Ukraine.

Sanctioned entities include companies in the aviationmilitary and dual useshipbuilding and machine building sectors.

This decision is part of a fourth package of restrictive measures imposed by the EU against Russia in view of its military aggression against Ukraine.

Altogether, EU restrictive measures now apply to a total of 877 individuals and 62 entities. Those designated are subject to an asset freeze and EU citizens and companies are forbidden from making funds available to them. Natural persons are additionally subject to a travel ban, which prevents them from entering or transiting through EU territories. The Council recently decided to prolong the sanctions targeting those responsible for undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months until 15 September 2022.

Russia’s unprovoked and unjustified military aggression against Ukraine grossly violates international law and the principles of the UN Charter and undermines European and global security and stability. It is inflicting unspeakable suffering on the Ukrainian population. Russia, and its accomplice Belarus, bear full responsibility for this war of aggression and those responsible will be held to account for their crimes, including for indiscriminately targeting civilians and civilian objects.

The European Union demands that Russia ceases its military action and withdraws all forces and military equipment from the entire territory of Ukraine immediately and unconditionally, and fully respects Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence within its internationally recognised borders.