Indicative programme – Economic and Financial Affairs Council of 17 May 2019


Europa building, Brussels

Eugen Orlando Teodorovici, Vice prime minister, acting minister of regional development and public administration

All times are approximate and subject to change

From +/- 08.00
Arrivals (live streaming)

Economic and Financial Dialogue between the EU and the Western Balkans and Turkey (roundtable – Presidency Trio: RO, FI, HR)

Doorstep by Vice prime minister Teodorovici

Roundtable (ministerial breakfast)

Beginning of the Ecofin Council meeting
Adoption of the agenda

Adoption of non-legislative A Items

+/- 11.50
Adoption of A Items (public session)

+/- 11.55
Excise duties
a) Structure of Excise Duties on Alcohol: Amendments to the Council Directive
b) Directive on general arrangements for excise duty (recast)
c) Regulation on administrative cooperation of the content of electronic registers

+/- 12.35
Any other business: Current financial services legislative proposals

+/- 12.40
International meetings
a) Follow-up to the G20 Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors and of the IMF and World Bank Spring meetings in April 2019 in Washington
b) Terms of reference for the G20 Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors in June 2019 in Fukuoka, Japan
c) Digital taxation in the international context
d) First meeting of the Coalition of finance ministers for climate action

European Semester 2019
Conclusions on Country Reports: 2019 In depth-reviews and implementation of the 2018 Country-Specific Recommendations

Any other business
Priorities for the next institutional cycle in the ECOFIN area

+/- 13.35
Ministerial working lunch

+/- 15.15
Press conference
(Justus Lipsius press room, live streaming)

In the margins of the Council

Thursday, 16 March

Eurogroup meeting

Justus Lipsius building

From 13.30
Arrivals (live streaming)

+/- 14.15
Doorstep of Eurogroup President Mario Centeno

Eurogroup (roundtable)

Arrivals (Inclusive EG)

Eurogroup in inclusive format (roundrable)

+/- 18.30
Press conference
(live streaming)