Main results – EU-ASEAN ministerial meeting, 21/01/2019


Main results

The 22nd EU-ASEAN ministerial meeting brought together foreign ministers of the European Union and their counterparts from the 10 member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). They reaffirmed the significant role played by ASEAN and the European Union in shaping the political, socio-economic, and security agenda for both regions and globally, and agreed in principle to upgrade EU-ASEAN relations to a Strategic Partnership.

Today, we agreed in principle to upgrade our relation to a strategic partnership. It is a recognition of the strategic partnership we already have in many fields. It is an important signal showing that the two most advanced and most successful integration processes in the world stand firmly behind multilateralism and a rule-based global order.

Federica Mogherini, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

We represent two of the most successful regional organisations in the world. We share values and common goals. As we take our partnership to a greater height, we will continue to explore new areas in which we can cooperate and learn from each other, such as cybersecurity, maritime security, connectivity and climate change.

Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Singapore, ASEAN coordinator for EU relations

EU and ASEAN foreign ministers adopted a joint statement:

EU and ASEAN foreign ministers discussed cooperation on regional and international issues, including global challenges such as climate change and strengthening the rule-based multilateral system. Foreign ministers addressed priority areas for 2019 such as enhanced security cooperation, including counterterrorism, transnational crime, maritime security and cybersecurity. They also discussed how to strengthen EU-ASEAN cooperation on connectivity. Foreign ministers also exchanged views on recent developments in the EU and in the ASEAN countries.

The meeting was co-chaired by High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Singapore Vivian Balakrishnan, as ASEAN coordinator for EU relations.

The 10 ASEAN member states are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.