Statement by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies in view of the situation in Ukraine

On 2 March 2023, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2023/4571.

The Council prolonged the restrictive measures until 6 March 2024 and updated the information in the Annex to Decision 2014/119/CFSP regarding the rights of defence and the right to effective judicial protection.

The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Ukraine and Bosnia and Herzegovina2, as well as the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.