Statement by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine

On 29 January 2024, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2024/4211 amending Decision 2011/72/CFSP.

Council Decision (CFSP) 2024/421 renewed the existing restrictive measures for a further twelve months, until 31 January 2025, and amended the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to Council Decision 2011/72/CFSP.

The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Ukraine, Republic of Moldova, Bosnia and Herzegovina2 and Georgia, the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Armenia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.