Annual awards ceremony for the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage with Europa Nostra

©European Union, 2020, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service©European Union, 2020, Source: EC - Audiovisual Service

This afternoon, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel, will co-host the online annual awards ceremony for the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage with Europa Nostra, the leading European heritage network. All 21 winners of this year’s European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, announced in May, will be honoured at the event. The Commissioner will give a welcome address and announce the three Grand Prix awards, selected by a jury of experts and the Board of Europa Nostra from the 21 winning achievements, as well as the two winners of the ILUCIDARE Special Prizes, selected from the six shortlisted projects for excellence in heritage-led innovation and international relations (co-funded by the Creative Europe and Horizon 2020 programmes). Hermann Parzinger, Executive President of Europa Nostra, will announce the winner of the Public Choice Award, selected by an online vote. The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards were launched by the European Commission in 2002 and are funded by the EU’s Creative Europe programme. More information on the winners, including the three Grand Prix laureates will be available here at 18:30 CET today.