Berlin Declaration on Digital Society: EU Member States agree to collaborate on a value-based digital transformation

Today, EU ministers in charge of government digitalisation signed the Berlin Declaration on Digital Society. The signature ceremony took place at the virtually held High-Level Conference on Value-Based Digital Transformation in Europe, organised by the German Presidency of the Council of the EU. Member States agreed to work together and in collaboration with EU institutions to strengthen digital participation and inclusion in our societies to foster a value-based digital transformation. The Berlin Declaration builds on the achievements of the 2017 Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment and sets the scene for a future interoperability policy and reinforced digital government policies in the EU. The signatories committed to implementing a number of actions by the end of 2024 such as promoting democratic values, encouraging digital empowerment and literacy, ensuring security, sustainability and technological sovereignty in the digital sphere. Executive Vice-President Margrethe Vestager said: “The Berlin Declaration stands for the European way of digital – based on common values and making sure technology improves our quality of life. I welcome this strong partnership and look forward to working hand-in-hand to turn the digitalisation of the public sector into a reality that serves businesses and people.” Johannes Hahn, Commissioner for Budget and Administration, added: “The Berlin Declaration is an important step towards a faster, fair, inclusive and cooperative digital modernisation of the public sector. The Declaration unites European countries around the common project of a digital transformation that is driven in collaboration and with full respect of the fundamental rights and shared European values.” The Berlin Declaration is the result of the close cooperation between the German Presidency of the Council of the EU, the Commission and the European Union Informal Network of Chief Information Officers (CIOs), including Member States’ representatives responsible for digitalisation. More information can be found here and in the press release of the German Presidency of the Council.