Commission announces shortlisted cities for 2020 Access City Awards

Today, the European Commission published the names of the 6 shortlisted cities that are in the running for winning the 2020 Access City Award. They are (in alphabetical order): Castelló de la Plana (Spain), Chania (Greece), Évreux (France), Skellefteå (Sweden), Tartu (Estonia), and Warsaw (Poland). The winner of the award and the runners-up will be announced on 29 November 2019 at the Access City Awards ceremony during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference in Brussels, an event the European Commission organises each year together with the European Disability Forum. Celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, the Access City Awards recognise cities that, by improving accessibility, make it easier for persons with disabilities and older citizens to gain access to public and private areas, children’s play areas, working environments, public transport and information and communication technologies. This year, 47 applications from cities across the EU were submitted. The winner of the 2019 competition was Breda (The Netherlands). Journalists interested in attending the conference should send an e-mail to