Conference on the Future of Europe: inaugural event in Strasbourg on 9 May

The inaugural event to launch the Conference on the Future of Europe will take place in the European Parliament in Strasbourg on Europe Day, Sunday 9 May.

When: Sunday, 9 May, 14.00 – 15.30

Where: European Parliament in Strasbourg

The programme will last an hour and a half. It will feature a welcome speech by French President Emmanuel Macron, as well as speeches by Presidents Sassoli, von der Leyen and Prime Minister Costa, representing the EU Institutions alongside short interventions by the Conference Executive Board’s co-chairs. Contributions via video link from citizens and civil society are also planned, as well as musical performances by Violinist Renaud Capuçon and Karski quartet. The launch will link to Europe Day events across the Member states.

27 Erasmus students from all member states will be present in the Parliament’s hemicycle, and around 300 citizens invited to attend remotely will be present through large TV screens.

Ministers for European affairs and other VIP guests will also join remotely.

COVID-19 prevention measures

Journalists can attend, provided they strictly follow the health restrictions and measures put in place by the French authorities and the European Parliament. Any media physically present at the event are requested to respect social distancing of 1.5 m while on EP premises and to wear a medical face mask at all times.

Audio-visual coverage

The opening ceremony of the Conference on the Future of Europe will be broadcast live on EbS+ (clean feed) from 13:30 to 15.30 CET Ebs will broadcast a signal with captions ( ready to broadcast )

The ceremony will also be web streamed on Parliament’s multimedia centre and EBS . on Parliament’s Facebook page and twitter account @Europarl_EN.

The video, audio and photo coverage will be available to download in “live replay” on the Multimedia Centre:


Annual press badges (either inter-institutional badges or EP badges) are valid.

Journalists without an access badge need to request accreditation before 8 May (18.00) via the journalist registration website.