Council adopts list of candidates for appointment as Commissioner

The Council today adopted the list of persons whom it proposes for appointment as members of the Commission until 31 October 2024.

Under Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union, the list is adopted by the Council by common accord with the President‑elect of the Commission.

President-elect Ursula von der Leyen gave her agreement to the draft list of Commissioners-designate yesterday.

The following persons have been proposed for appointment as Commissioner:

Ms Helena DALLI (Malta) 
Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia) 
Ms Elisa FERREIRA (Portugal) 
Ms Mariya GABRIEL (Bulgaria) 
Mr Paolo GENTILONI (Italy) 
Ms Sylvie GOULARD (France) 
Mr Johannes HAHN (Austria) 
Mr Phil HOGAN (Ireland) 
Ms Ylva JOHANSSON (Sweden) 
Ms Věra JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic) 
Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES (Cyprus) 
Mr Janez LENARČIČ (Slovenia) 
Ms Rovana PLUMB (Romania) 
Mr Didier REYNDERS (Belgium) 
Mr Margaritis SCHINAS (Greece) 
Mr Nicolas SCHMIT (Luxembourg) 
Mr Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakia) 
Ms Kadri SIMSON (Estonia) 
Mr Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS (Lithuania) 
Ms Dubravka ŠUICA (Croatia) 
Mr Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands) 
Mr László TRÓCSÁNYI (Hungary) 
Ms Jutta URPILAINEN (Finland) 
Ms Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark) 
Mr Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI (Poland),

in addition to:
Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES (Spain), appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy on 5 August 2019, by the European Council with the agreement of the President-elect of the Commission.

Next steps

This decision will now be forwarded to the European Parliament and published in the Official Journal of the EU.

In accordance with the Treaty on European Union, the President, the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and the other members of the Commission will be subject as a body to a vote of consent by the European Parliament. On the basis of this consent the Commission will be appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority.