Council adopts new list of Commissioner candidates

The Council today adopted a new list of persons whom it proposes for appointment as members of the Commission until 31 October 2024.

This paves the way for the vote of consent in the European Parliament on the entire Commission as a body.

Under Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union, the list of Commissioners-designate is adopted by the Council by common accord with the President‑elect of the Commission. President-elect Ursula von der Leyen gave her agreement to the draft list on 21 November.

The following persons have been proposed for appointment as Commissioner:

Mr Thierry BRETON (France)
Ms Helena DALLI (Malta)
Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia)
Ms Elisa FERREIRA (Portugal)
Ms Mariya GABRIEL (Bulgaria)
Mr Paolo GENTILONI (Italy)
Mr Johannes HAHN (Austria)
Mr Phil HOGAN (Ireland)
Ms Ylva JOHANSSON (Sweden)
Ms Věra JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic)
Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES (Cyprus)
Mr Janez LENARČIČ (Slovenia)
Mr Didier REYNDERS (Belgium)
Mr Margaritis SCHINAS (Greece)
Mr Nicolas SCHMIT (Luxembourg)
Mr Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakia)
Ms Kadri SIMSON (Estonia)
Mr Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS (Lithuania)
Ms Dubravka ŠUICA (Croatia)
Mr Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands)
Ms Jutta URPILAINEN (Finland)
Ms Adina VĂLEAN (Romania)
Mr Olivér VÁRHELYI (Hungary)
Ms Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark)
Mr Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI (Poland),

in addition to:

Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES (Spain), appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

Following the European Parliament’s consent, the Commission is appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority.