Croatia set to join the euro area on 1 January 2023: Council adopts final required legal acts

Today, the Council adopted the final three legal acts that are required to enable Croatia to introduce the euro on 1 January 2023. This completes the process in the Council which will enable Croatia to become a member of the euro area and to benefit from using the EU’s common currency, the euro, as of next year.

I would like to congratulate my counterpart, Zdravko Marić, and the whole of Croatia for becoming the 20th country to join the euro area. Adopting the euro is not a race, but a responsible political decision. Croatia has successfully completed all the required economic criteria and they will pay in euros as of 1 January 2023.

Zbyněk Stanjura, Minister of Finance of Czechia

One of the three legal acts sets the conversion rate between the euro and the Croatian kuna at 7.53450 kuna per 1 euro. This corresponds to the current central rate of the kuna in the exchange rate mechanism (ERM II).