Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries with Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/1271 concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia’s actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine

On 21 July 2022, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/1271[1].

The Council decided to introduce further restrictive measures as well as clarifications to existing measures. Decision 2014/512/CFSP is therefore amended accordingly.

The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Ukraine, the potential candidate country Bosnia and Herzegovina[2], and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.