Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures against Syria

On 28 May 2020, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/719[1]  amending Council Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Council Decision renewed the existing restrictive measures for a further twelve months, until 1 June 2021, and amended the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex I to Decision 2013/255/CFSP.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro and Albania[2] and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

[1] Published on 29.05.2020 in the Official Journal of the European Union no L 168, p.66.

[2] The Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.