Four Presidents mark ten years of the Lisbon Treaty in House of European History

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Lisbon Treaty, European Parliament President David Sassoli is hosting a ceremony in the House of European History on 1 December

At noon on Sunday, President Sassoli will be joined by European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen, European Council President Charles Michel and European Central Bank President Christine Lagarde to mark the 10th anniversary of the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty. On the same day, a new chapter for Europe begins, as on 1 December the European Commission and its President Ursula von der Leyen will start their mandate, as will the new President of the European Council, Charles Michel.

After a private visit to selected exhibition areas at the House of European History, the four Presidents will each make a short statement at around 12:30 (open to the media). Following this, Presidents Sassoli and Michel will present President von der Leyen with a copy of the Treaty of Lisbon. A detailed programme will follow.

Accreditation and access

Journalists who hold an inter-institutional badge or annual badge delivered by the Parliament can enter the House of European History for the event from 10:00.

Those who do not have a badge need to request short-term accreditation through Parliament’s registration website, by 20:00 on Friday 29 November. Badges can be collected at the entrance of the House of European History from 11:00 on Sunday.