Winners of the EU Contest for Young Scientists 2020-2021

Yesterday, the Commission announced the winners of the 32nd EU Contest for Young Scientists, with the top prizes awarded to six projects from Bulgaria, Germany, Ireland, Spain, Turkey and Ukraine. The winners will receive €7,000 for each of their outstanding projects in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), as well as in social sciences. Among the many research topics were quantum computing, innovative solar cells and a statistical investigation into gender stereotyping in 5-7 year olds. The second and third prizes were granted to projects from Bulgaria, Czechia, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Switzerland, Turkey, Belarus, and Canada. Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, said: “Congratulations to all winners of this year’s contest on their outstanding achievement. The last year has shown us the importance of excellent research and innovation in overcoming crises that affect all of us. This competition celebrates a new generation of talents whose discoveries and innovations will be essential to shape the future we want to live in. I’m really proud of our youth’s exceptional work.” The EU Contest for Young Scientists was set up by the European Commission in 1989 to encourage cooperation and exchange between young scientists and to give them the opportunity to be guided by some of Europe’s most prominent researchers. It also seeks to encourage young people to study STEM and to pursue a career in science. This year, 158 promising young scientists, aged between 14 and 20 years old and coming from 34 countries, participated. The students presented 114 different projects to an international jury of renowned scientists, chaired by Dr Attila Borics from the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. The winners shared a total of €93,000 in prize money, divided between the 18 core prizes, as well as other prizes, such as visits to some of the most innovative organisations and companies in Europe. They were announced during a ceremony in the University of Salamanca, Spain, following a two-day virtual competition. The detailed list of the winners is available here and more information is available here.