COLLEGE MEETING: European Commission appoints principal advisers to its departments for agriculture, financial services, trade and its Regulatory Scrutiny Board

The European Commission has today decided to appoint principal advisers to its departments for agriculture and rural development (DG AGRI), financial stability, financial services and capital markets union (DG FISMA), trade (DG TRADE) and its Regulatory Scrutiny Board (RSB). Ms Cristina Lobillo Borrero, a Spanish national, is becoming Principal Adviser for “Common Agricultural Policy interaction with other EU policies” in DG AGRI. Ms Lobillo Borrero has worked on agricultural and trade policies for most of her career, both in the European Commission and in the Spanish public administration. Having joined the Commission in 2004, since 2014 she has been heading the private office of Commissioner Miguel Arias Cañete in charge of climate action and energy. Ms Paulina Dejmek Hack, being a Swedish and Czech national, joined the European Commission in 2004 and has dedicated most of her career to the topics of financial services and the internal market, including as Deputy Head of Cabinet of the then European Commission Vice-President Michel Barnier. In 2014, she became the Financial Adviser to the European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker in his private office. Since June 2019, she has also been serving as his Director of Coordination and Administration. Mr Bernard Naudts, a Belgian national, is becoming a Principal Adviser in the Commission’s Regulatory Scrutiny Board, where he has served since 2016. Mr Naudts joined the Commission in 1993 and and has been in charge of impact assessments and evaluations since 2002. Mr Léon Delvaux has been appointed to the position of a Principal Adviser for “Coherence in trade relations” in DG Trade. Mr Delvaux, of Luxembourgian nationality, joined the Commission from the Luxembourgian diplomatic corps in 2014, to serve as a Trade and Development Adviser to President Jean-Claude Juncker. In Luxembourg, his positions included Deputy Director to the Directorates for Development cooperation and Humanitarian affairs and for Economic and European affairs. In 2014, he was also a full Member of the Trade Policy Committee in charge of shaping EU trade policy from the Council side.