Committee of the Regions: Council appoints members for the 2020-2025 term

The Council today appointed 181 members and 181 alternate members to the Committee of the Regions for its new five-year term. The new term will run from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.

The Committee of the Regions currently consists of 350 representatives of regional or local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly. The size of the committee will be reduced to 329 members once the UK leaves the EU.

The Council appoints the members of the committee and an equal number of alternate members in accordance with the proposals made by each member state.

The current appointment concerns the nominations that were communicated to the Council before 15 November 2019. The other members and alternate members will be appointed at a later date.

Visit the meeting page